Runs on Linux?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
iplayfast
iplayfast's picture
Runs on Linux?

First of all, the fact that it runs on Linux is the reason I'm interested in this robot. From seeing it in stores it looks about as good as wind up toys in the 60's as far as movement goes.

However it runs Linux, that means I can do some cool things with it

However, the manuals don't say how the kernel be upgraded to newer versions as they come out. Can I add my own software (that is compiled onto the arm processor?).

Where is the link for the software used. Linux is under the GPL, so the source must be provided along with the kernel, or is it only available to those that have bought the robot.

Also how is this price justified? I've found gumstick computers & robotics kits that go for around $200 retail. So the vision/sound/motor movement/R&D costs $400? It doesn't seem right to me.

Robonix
Robonix's picture

I'm not a linux programmer, but I've learn a little about it.  I am very interested in linux in a robot.

this really has huge implications.  as far as kernel upgrades, i would assume that as long as the chip that linux is embedded in can be upgraded, then a firmware update could possibly upgrade the linux kernel.

if what Tilden says is true, that he wants this robot to be more easily modified by the community, then i would assume he would at least provide firmware kernel upgrades.

what i want to know is, can i run code against the kernel, instead of having to use the provided software to control the bot.  having a compiler and type library is what is needed. and the abiltity to write real programs instead of just control scripts.  use a real language also, not a scripting language.  in other words, C not Java.

and i would pay $500 for that capabilty.  even in a 2 foot toy.