out of the box

69 posts / 0 new
Last post
Rhett Dudley
Rhett Dudley's picture
 Wow, you guys are scaring me! after all I have gone through to get RS Media sent over here to Germany( robo pet too, have not gotten them yet) and all of the problems I have seen in the forum about the problems right out of the box and beyond, jeez! It almost wants a sane person to not even open the box and send RS Media back and save all the Hassle! I expected to be challenged with robotics since I am new to it and thought this would be a good place to start since the great review I saw in the latest Robot Mag, but man, sounds like a lot of people are just having one problem after another! I thought that 4 decades of rc planes and helicopters would give me an advantage of some kind, but the stuff I am seeing here at the very least concerns me. Has any one out there had a truly great experience, with no problem other than the learning curve itself?  Learning the programming and soft ware does not bother me, I fly for a living and have to deal with  that stuff all the time and the rc stuff has taught me a good bit about basic electronics, but what I am not prepared for is getting defective software, or mechanics or electronics or all 3 together, hours of aggrivation and the poor '' I'll get back to you '' tech support. I mean really, I want to know.  Is this a sort of 50/50 proposition, I get lucky and get a good well performing RS MEDIA that I can actually enjoy and learn from right out of the box OR will I become a member of the other group of which I have seen so many in this forum and be totally upset confused and frustrated? I am not interrested in a 'Luck or no Luck deal' I want much, much better odds than than that! I do not have the time and I am much to far away here in Germany to want to take the many weeks in turn around time. Would I be better off when I do get it just opening it up and if it does not work properly after a decent effort just sending it back and putting the mon