What is USB Net Setting?

22 posts / 0 new
Last post
TikaC
TikaC's picture
What is USB Net Setting?

I can't find anything in the manual about it but in the options, there's a USB Net setting that is on and off. I have to experiment with it but anyone know what that is about or have any clues on it?

Wonder if that would get me into the brain??

ED-209
ED-209's picture

Simple you can network with your USB similar to your COM ports. It works on RSMEDIA I tried it on mine when piping commands. Learn linux and all will be clear.

TikaC
TikaC's picture

I know linux very well. I'm a LAMP administrator at a web hosting company.

I didn't know it was using a USB port as a com port of sorts. Like direct cable connection or something, it sounds like.

I haven't really had time to really dig into that further though. Just too much going on with the holidays, work, etc. I'll have to check into that idea.

Nocturnal
Nocturnal's picture

It installs a usb->serial module into the kernel, and then attempts to setup a ppp link over the connection. I seem to recall that there were drivers required on the windows side (though I could be wrong). I never got around to trying it under linux.

TikaC
TikaC's picture

@Nocturnal - In Windows, one MIGHT have to install the PPP drivers, yes. In Linux as well. I say MIGHT because way back when, PPP drivers were installed by default for dial-up users. Now with broadband so common, later versions of OSs may not have them installed by default but include them in the distribution for those that need/want it.

@crmfightr - I am hoping this would mean no need to hack the port. I haven't opened up Nyx yet so I don't know if the cable is there or not. If so, it would just mean hacking up a USB - other-end-of-ribbon-cable item, cutting a hole and mounting the USB port. Then it's plug in and use.