New RS Media from eBay - speaker defect?

25 posts / 0 new
Last post
fsr1d3r
fsr1d3r's picture
New RS Media from eBay - speaker defect?

Hello All,

I am completely new to RS Media and
this forum. I just received delivery of a "new" RS Media for my son
from an eBay business seller in UK - he is going to love it. I have
tried out the remote and everything seemed to be working fine - but I
just noticed when he goes into his dance routine, that there is no
music coming out of the left hand speaker. Is the default music in RS
Media mono, or should music be coming out of both speakers?

If
the speaker is not working - can I fix it myself? Is there a tutorial
anywhere showing how to take RS Media apart and/or what wires are where?

Another thing I noticed - there is a constant pulsing sound coming from the subwoofer on his back - is that normal?

Thanks for any help!

Musa
Musa's picture

Hi There. The music should come out of both speakers. Also there should be no phasing sound. I have owned 5 RS MEDIA which i have bought an sold on ebay. If your item is new you should get an exchange.

FreddyA
FreddyA's picture

Hello and welcome fsr1d3r, the demo sound is in stereo so you may have a loose connection. RS media does not have a left and right volume level so that is a dead end. I had my left hand speaker stop working after putting him back together a few weeks ago and I traced the wire from his arm tube to the board connection and that was ok, it turned out to be (in my case the white wire) a broken wire at the solder point from the media board to the connector on the main board. I have read of this pulsing sound to simulate heart beating, but I do not have that in either of mine. Welcome again and make sure to check out the RS Media download area there are personalities and try out Helibot's RSM Alarm clock. Have fun enjoying this with your son!

Freddy

fsr1d3r
fsr1d3r's picture