[Solved] HELP: RS Media stuck at WowWee splash [video]

57 posts / 0 new
Last post
some1l8
some1l8's picture
[Solved] HELP: RS Media stuck at WowWee splash [video]

I've checked all wire connections and cleaned all corrocsions.

When I disconnect the back from its body, it still boot up like this. It seems the back circuit board (with some samsung memories, sd card and usb sockets) doesn't communicate with the motor driver board. Perhaps that's why I can't reflash the system with an sd card. It doesn't read sd card at all.

video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCKExkBKiOw

That's all it can do. After power up dance, there is no sound, no leg movement and no mode change. Only very limited upper body actions. LCD screen is stuck at 'wowwee' splash.

Please HELP.

BTW I'm new to this robot. What is serial port hack? I've seen alot of people talk about it. but it seems there's no clear explanation. Please can anyone explain what it is and how to do it. Thanks

Vader
Vader's picture

It's most likely a problem with the software. If you have an SD card, try taking it out and see if he'll boot. Also make sure you don't have any rsupdate folders on the internal memory (accessed when you plug him in with a USB cable) or SD card.

If none of the above suggestions work, try running the firmware dump script and posting the contents of ls.txt, mount.txt and dmesg.txt. Those 3 files are pretty big, so it's probably a good idea to upload them somewhere else.

The serial hack basically allows you to access RS Media's internal Linux OS and Bootloader. There are instructions on how to do it here: http://www.robocommunity.com/article/13016/Connecting-to-the-RS-Media-Li...

If you don't need bootloader access (which is used for reflashing), then just use the USB Console instead.

some1l8
some1l8's picture

There's no difference whether sd card is in the slot or not, I've done both, his just boots up the same way.