Problems with RS Media (booting bar lockup)

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Source
Source's picture
Problems with RS Media (booting bar lockup)

Hello all,

The RS Media I have here wouldn't connect to the PC with RS Media Suite (2.4), hence I looked around on this forum. After reading various comments in several threads I followed the suggestion in this thread to flash the RS Media since I had the same problem.

I followed the instructions to reflash with RSMV2Reload. When it was updating I got the NAND error like in this thread, now my RS Media does not go further than the loading bar and after a minute the movement triggers (without sound/speech).

In the RSMV2Reload instructions is also information to replace the kernel but after this error I am afraid to brick the robot.

I have no experience with Linux, is there a way I can fix this? And after it (hopefully) boots further than the loading screen, is there a way to make it connect with RS Media Suite (Windows 8, 64bit) or is there another way to load personalities on it without RS Media Suite?

Thank you in advance.

------------

I got:

UPDATING MEDIA
CHECKING
CHECKSUM OK

UPDATING
APPLICATIONS
CHECKING
CHECKSUM ERROR
NAND WRITE ERROR

UPDATING PERSON

FINISH UPDATIN
PLEASE RESTART
THE SYSTEM

Source
Source's picture

Update:Jumped to conclusions to quick.I followed the instructions from Helibot in this post to flash it back to stock and now it is now working again. However, I can't connect it to the PC. When I put the robot in USB/tether mode and launch RS Media Suite, the application crashed (even when set on Windows XP compatibility). Now I read that I can update the personalities to default (or rather; reset).Question that rises: Can I replace or copy for example Billy and change my own personality to Billy (rename everything) or will that not work or even brick the RS Media?

crazygeorge
crazygeorge's picture